SITEMAP       CONTACT USTwitterFacebookInstagram

Physicians Recognized as Provincial Award Recipients

Dr Kish2Prairie Mountain Health wishes to congratulate physicians from our region that have been provincially recognized this year by the Manitoba College of Family Physicians (MCFP).  The MCFP presents annual awards in specific categories and 2018 recipients include five physicians who are practicing in or out of the communities of Dauphin and Swan River.

The MCFP announced that Dr. Scott Kish (pictured right) of Dauphin is the recipient of the Manitoba Family Physician of the Year Award for 2018. Dr. Kish practices family medicine at the Dauphin Medical Clinic and Dauphin Regional Health Centre. He is presently the Unit Director of the Parkland Family Medicine Residency Program —which is based out of Dauphin— through the University Of Manitoba’s College of Medicine.  He became Unit Director in 2015 following Dr. David O’Hagan’s retirement from the position.

Dr. Kish is a locally-trained success story, having graduated from the Parkland Family Medicine Residency Unit himself in June 1991 following two years of training.    He began supervising residents and then became a primary preceptor soon after.

The Family Physician of the Year award is presented to an outstanding Family Physician who embodies the principles of family medicine.

The MCFP also announced the recipients of the 2018 Awards of Excellence—Group Award.  The Awards of Excellence are presented to family physicians who have made outstanding contributions to the discipline of Family Medicine. Award of Excellence Group Award recipients in 2018 are Drs. Leah Koetting, Adrian Fung, and Rafiq Andani from the Swan Valley Primary Care Centre.  Last year, Dr. Andani received the Continuing Medical Education Award.

An award is also presented to an International Medical Graduate (IMG) Mentor. This award is to be presented to a person / group / community who has supported or advocated for a family physician who is an International Medical Graduate as they integrate into life in Manitoba either professionally or personally.   The 2018 recipient is Dr. Amin Mousavi of the Swan Valley Primary Care Centre.

The honours will be officially presented at the MCFP Presidents Awards and Recognition Banquet on Friday, April 20th in Winnipeg at the Inn at the Forks Ballroom.